In 1984 a local group of pioneering women joined forces to establish a nonprofit dedicated to fundraising to support the Cancer Therapy & Research Center (CTRC). They had one goal in mind: make a difference in the fight against cancer. Our founding members include Edith McAllister, Lois Yancy and first president Jane Cole. Since then the members of the now SA Cancer Council have worked to raise awareness of and funds for the newly named Mays Cancer Center at UT Health San Antonio MD Anderson Cancer Center. 

Today, our all-volunteer organization continues to work tirelessly to host multiple fundraising events that benefit the Mays Cancer Center. Funds raised from our Spring Luncheon and Cure Cancer Card (formerly the Partners Shopping Card) have allowed us to donate more than $5 million to support cutting edge research and patient assistance. For the past five years our volunteers have worked in tandem with the Food Bank to stock a food pantry with nutritional options for patients. In 2014, the Council launched our Circles of Hope that are comprised of members, and non-members, which raise $25,000 per circle on an annual basis to fund pilot research projects. 

Thank you to the members of our organization for your commitment and dedication to helping us in the fight against cancer by providing financial and volunteer resources for cancer research, treatment, education, community outreach and patient assistance.

A Special THANKS to Our SACC Sponsors and Underwriters

HEB Helping Here
SA Cancer Council
SA Cancer Council
SA Cancer Council
Ancira Sponsor
University Health System
San Antonio Medical Foundation
Argent Trust
Sponsor Margie and Bill Klesse
Sponsor Yona and Tom McNish
Sponsor Karen Lee and David Zachry
Sponsor Nancy and Ed Kelley
Lori Wright
Ann Vineyard
Craig Wright
Karen Heintz
Mr. & Mrs. Dick Gilby
SA Cancer Council