This year’s spring luncheon at the Pearl Stable celebrated the SA Cancer Council’s 35 years of service by “Honoring the Past, Celebrating the Future.”

This year’s emcee, KSAT TV news anchor Leslie Mouton, highlighted that for 35 years, the Council has provided funds to support vital research and patient care at the Mays Cancer Center, the newly named UT Health San Antonio MD Anderson Cancer Center.

SA Cancer Council President Cheryl Wright introduced the Council’s past presidents and thanked them for their hard work and commitment over the years.

Cheryl also introduced the recipients of the annual Distinguished Service Awards – Liz Conklyn and Ginny Peacock – for exceptional contributions to the work of the Council. .

These distinguished women who represent the Council’s past and present were instrumental in creating a solid foundation on which to build the organization’s future hopes and dreams. It’s a promising future.

Dr. Ruben Mesa’s remarks described the care that doctors provide patients, as well as the research to help determine cancer causes, treatments and possibly, cures.

Dr. William Henrich, president of UT Health San Antonio, moderated the keynote discussion with James Milliken, chancellor of the University of Texas System, and his wife, Nana G.H. Smith.
Milliken and his wife spoke of their personal experience navigating his own cancer diagnosis, what that meant for his work and aspirations, as well as his leadership of the UT System. He spoke of the future of education and health in Texas, as well as across the country.

Ann Vineyard, Committee Chair

Leave a Comment

A Special THANKS to Our SACC Sponsors and Underwriters